Log4j levels

I always forget which level is which in Log4j so I copied this from the JavaDoc for the Level class.

static Level ALL
The ALL has the lowest possible rank and is intended to turn on all logging.
static Level DEBUG
The DEBUG Level designates fine-grained informational events that are most useful to debug an application.
static Level ERROR
The ERROR level designates error events that might still allow the application to continue running.
static Level FATAL
The FATAL level designates very severe error events that will presumably lead the application to abort.
static Level INFO
The INFO level designates informational messages that highlight the progress of the application at coarse-grained level.
static Level OFF
The OFF has the highest possible rank and is intended to turn off logging.
static Level TRACE
The TRACE Level designates finer-grained informational events than the DEBUG
static Level WARN
The WARN level designates potentially harmful situations.

How to Log SQL on JBoss

Edit the log4j.xml in the conf directory as shown below to turn on SQL debugging of the JDBC CMP plugin.

/apps/jboss/server/default/conf :->diff -c log4j.xml~ log4j.xml
*** log4j.xml~  Mon Sep 30 18:09:27 2002
--- log4j.xml   Tue Apr  4 20:41:18 2006
*** 61,73 ****




--- 61,79 ----




If you want to log Hibernate SQL statements:


If you want to log everything Hibernate’s doing, including SQL statements, schema export, transactions, etc.: